Low Fat Raw Vegan Ice Cream with Raw Chocolate Sauce

Standard

What do I miss most about being vegan? Ice Cream. I love the stuff. This past summer a friend of mine worked at Ben and Jerry’s and would bring home a pint of my favorite, Half Baked Fro Yo. We would pass around the carton like a joint and each take a creamy spoonful, until the whole thing was devoured. Sometimes in a group of people we would have multiple cartons going at the same time… Well, there is the answer to how my ass got so big. However at an average of 200 calories per 1/2 cup and 14 grams of fat, I must say that I don’t miss saddle-bag enchancing side effects.

I was quite skeptical when I started to read about raw vegan Ice Cream, and remembered my granny’s biggest diet secrets were frozen bananas and frozen grapes. This is just my twist on granny’s best kept secret. The protien in the nanners hold the air beautifully, resulting in a light, fluffy whip. Eat directly from the food processer or place in small containers to freeze (I used espresso cups for a delicious snack!). If you would like a scoopable version, try placing in an ice cream maker, I have a special bowl and attachment for my cusinart standing mixer.

Take 2-3 frozen bananas, chop and freeze. Use a bowl, plate or Ziploc baggie.

Thaw slightly and place in a food processor with 1 vanilla bean. Feel free to add 2 tablespoons rice milk if you like it creamy.

Voila, you’re done! Powder with some cocoa powder or…….

if you are feeling jazzy, place 2 tablespoons agave nectar with 1 tablespoon raw dark cocoa powder for a raw chocolate sauce!

One thought on “Low Fat Raw Vegan Ice Cream with Raw Chocolate Sauce

  1. Abby Bunce

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My website covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!North Richland Hills Roofing, 6749 Manor Dr., North Richland Hills, TX 76180 – (817) 381-1700

Leave a Reply

