Low Fat Banana Cake as “Vegan Stuffed Rabbit”

Standard

This Easter I thought that I would use some of the many cake pans I had lying around and opted to tackle the 3-d bunny pan I bought at the thrift store a few years back. After a little research I discovered that the cake will naturally rise, and take on the form of the “lid” pan.

Seemed simple enough. The end result was indeed a cute 3 dimensional rabbit, but I did not want to frost it for fear of loosing the cake’s definition.  My solution was to carefully cut a slit through the center of the rabbit, and stuff it was a almond butter and coconut stuffing. The end result was stuffed rabbit.

That’s right folks, I made vegan stuffed rabbit for Easter. It was actually devoured by my family before I could even take a picture of it, but for some reason, I feel like the stuffed rabbit needs to make another debut.

The recipe also happens to be surprisingly low in fat because of how many bananas are added.

  • 2 cups flour (you can use whole wheat if you like)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar or sucanat
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 rice milk (or any other replacement milk)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preparation:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9-inch square baking pan.In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the sugar and oil, then add bananas. Add rice milk and vanilla, stirring to combine.

Add the flour mixture, stirring just until wet.

Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

One thought on “Low Fat Banana Cake as “Vegan Stuffed Rabbit”

Leave a Reply

