The Flaming Ice Cube Restaurant Review-Cleveland

Standard

Working in public square one day I stumbled across a new cafe that had just opened up, so new they only had a vinyl banner as a sign. I peered into the window and saw a plethora of fresh fruit and decided to get a smoothie to quench both my thirst and my hunger.  Standing in line my sweet tooth lusted after the bakery case filled with dainty little cupcakes, cute mini bundt cakes and luscious looking muffins. It took almost a year of being vegan to accept that most bakery is laden with oodles of butter and eggs. I finally got to the register and ordered my smoothie, I also asked to make sure they put no dairy in it (I have learned my lesson the hard way). To my surprise they said the entire restaurant was vegan! “REALLY?!” and was baffled at the wide variety of food, desserts and beverages all withing my diet restrictions.

I have been several times since, in fact, it’s my new favorite hang out.  Offering a full coffee bar with non-dairy milk and cream, soups, salads, crispy panninis, unique burgers and of course THE BAKERY! My favorite dessert so far is the red velvet cupcake… It’s not too sweet, or heavy.

I have never had a bad meal there, and I am always greeted by a smiling face behind the counter. They even offer table service, which I find more personable for a cafe than yelling “number 26, you’re orders ready!”. However, a full meal with coffee can still bring you under $10, still making it a cheap date.

The cube, as I like to call it, is no stranger to veggies. Everything is jam packed with enough greens and crunchy veggies to keep you fueled throughout the day, and not a shred of iceberg lettuce in the place. Any salad wrap is jam packed with fresh mixed greens and so big it requires 2 hands.  Thier panninis are served crispy and in just the proper porportions. My favorite is the Medditerainain served with a hearty artichoke spread topped with roasted red peppers, kalamata olives, fresh spinach, red onion and tomato served with a homemade side and a pickle ($6.95).

The cafe even offers a small storefront full of vegan goodies like tofurky roasts and braggs amino acids, which can defiantly save you a trip to the food co-op. Vegan cook books and other eco-friendly products as well. Speaking of eco-friendly, the lack of downtown parking forces you to be eco friendly. I would highly recommend biking there, but if you are taking the bus or the rapid it is a conveniently across the street from the station. Parking is available down Euclid, is most likely available after the bushiness day comes to a close.  No worries though, it just gives you a bigger push to be green while going to get your greens!

This place has it all, great food, great service and they are eco-friendly to boot. Plus Vegans have the opportunity to order from the entire delectable menu, which is a rare but welcomed treat. This place meets all of the requirements for 5 stars, so come downtown and get your herbivore on!

For a full menu: http://www.flamingice.com/Menu/MenuClevelandDownload.pdf

Located at 140 Public Square

Cleveland, Oh 44114

Cafe hours are

Mon-Fri: 7:30am-9pm

Sat: 11am-9pm

Closed Sunday

One thought on “The Flaming Ice Cube Restaurant Review-Cleveland

Leave a Reply

